Welcome to NiGHTS COMMUNiTY
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Poser model, technology is trying to defeat me

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Sand3

Sand3

Lurker

• Visitor
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
So I'm getting to the culmination of a four-year project, most of those four years being the time it took me to learn to 3D model well enough to make something I'm really satisfied with.

So the reason I started learning to 3D model in the first place was that I wanted to make a NiGHTS character for Poser and Daz. I was kind of inspired by LittleDragon's awesome Krystal (Starfox) character, and also the pictures Kichigai's made in StudioMax. At first the thought was just for pretty pictures, but now I've started learning animation (Carrara) with the intent of doing so much more.

In any event, I've spent four years building up the skills to do this *right*, and this week I've finally been preparing the geometries to make the journey over to Daz to be rigged and turned into a beta-version that I can share with the internets at large and start building some motion files. Today I finally finished all his body maps (the way colors/textures are put onto 3D models) and then broke the object up into vertex groups; the vertex groups define how the "bones" will go into him so that he can move and flex gracefully.

I finished all that about an hour ago, and sent him from my modeling program over to Daz to be rigged (given a skeleton so he can move). I'm really excited at this point, because I'm thinking that I can have a beta to release by the end of the coming week, maybe.